Creative Europe Culture Sub-programme

Creative Europe (2021-2027) will support European creative sectors with a budget of €2.44 billion.

The Creative Europe programme 2021 – 2027 sets out common goals for the cultural and creative sectors. It puts a stronger emphasis on transnational creation, global circulation and promotion of European works, innovation across sectors, and ease of funding access through higher EU co-financing rates. All funded actions and projects should respect gender equality and the EU's environmental commitments in the design and implementation of their activities

The CULTURE strand of the Programme consists of the following actions:

  • Horizontal actions covering all cultural and creative sectors: support to cultural cooperation projects, networks of professional organisations, platforms for the promotion of European artists and works, individual mobility scheme.
  • Sector-specific support to complement horizontal actions in music, book & publishing, cultural heritage and architecture as well as other sectors.
  • Special actions to reward and promote excellence and creativity such as the awards for literature, music, architecture and cultural heritage, European Capitals of Culture, and the European Heritage Label.

Listed below are the main funding strands of the Culture Strand. Click on a strand to find out more about it, the eligibility criteria you must fulfil, and how to apply.

Find out more about funding

The overall objectives of the programme are to:

  • Support the capacity of European cultural and creative sectors to operate transnationally
  • Promote the transnational circulation of cultural and creative works and operators to reach new audiences in Europe and beyond
  • Strengthen the financial capacity of the cultural and creative sectors, and in particular small and medium-sized enterprises and organisations
  • Support transnational policy cooperation in order to foster policy development, innovation, audience building and new business models

The priorities in the Culture Sub-programme are to:

  • Strengthen the sector's capacity by supporting actions that provide operators with skills and know how particularly in the digital technologies area, testing new approaches to audience building and new business models
  • Support actions that enable operators to internationalise their careers
  • Strengthen European cultural networks
  • Promote the transnational circulation of work (international touring, events, exhibitions, literature)
  • Support audience building in order to stimulate interest in European cultural works

Who is eligible to apply for Creative Europe Culture Sub-programme funding?

Organisations with legal status (2 years in the case of the lead coordinator) based in one of the eligible countries listed below, whose work lies in the field of culture, can apply for Culture strand funding.  Activities dedicated exclusively to the audio-visual sectors are not eligible under the Culture Sub-programme.  Audio-visual activities are supported through the Media sub-programme. However, audio-visual activities may be eligible for the Culture Sub-programme as long as they are ancillary to activities dedicated to non-audiovisual cultural and creative sectors.

Eligible countries

  • EU Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom).
  • European Economic Area (EEA) countries Norway, Iceland.
  • The Swiss Confederation, on the basis of a bilateral agreement to be concluded with that country;
  • Countries candidate to EU membership (Montenegro, Serbia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia).
  • Countries of the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina).
  • Countries covered by the European Neighbourhood Policy provided agreements have been signed by those countries for the participation in the programme:  Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Tunisia*.

Please see here for the most up to date list of countries that fulfill conditions and with which the Commission has begun negotiations.

*From 1st of January 2018.