EU Prize for Literature announces Irish Shortlist!
05 April 2019

EU Prize for Literature announces Irish Shortlist!

The Irish Jury for the EU Prize for Literature - Sorcha De Brún, Ronan Colgan, Conor Kostick, Sinéad Mac Aodha and Nessa O’Mahony - are delighted to announce the shortlist for the Irish winner of the 2019 prize. The aim of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) is to put the spotlight on the creativity and diverse wealth of Europe’s contemporary literature in the field of fiction, to promote the circulation of literature within Europe and to encourage greater interest in non-national literary works.

The works of the selected winners (one per country participating in the Prize on a rotation basis) will reach a wider and international audience, and touch readers beyond national and linguistic borders. The Prize is financed by Creative Europe with the purpose of promoting cross-border mobility of those working in the cultural sector; to encourage the transnational circulation of cultural and artistic output; and to foster intercultural dialogue. The EU prize is worth €5,000 to the author!

The 2019 Irish nominees for the EU Prize for Literature are: 

  • Niamh Boyce, Her Kind, Penguin Books. The story of a witch trial in Kilkenny in 1324, Her Kind is far more than a work of historical fiction, it is as searing a critique of our own times as is Arthur Miller’s, The Crucible.
  • Jan Carson, The Fire Starters, Doubleday. A summer of discontent in east Belfast provides the suffocating context to an encounter between a lonely, withdrawn doctor and a siren, whose song is as irresistible as when her sisters sang to Odysseus.
  • Rosemary JenkinsonCatholic Boy, Doire Press. Fifteen wonderfully written short stories from contemporary Northern Ireland, that take the reader into lives filled with pathos, courage, loneliness, defiance… and sex.
  • Bernie McGill, The Watchhouse, Tinder. The clash of modernity and tradition on Rathlin island is movingly played out through an extraordinarily vivid set of characters, notably, Nuala, the resourceful, irreverent and intelligent heroine.

The winner will be announced on 22nd May, 2019. Best of luck to all the Irish authors!